top of page

A Word From the Author

Timberhaven. Helluva little town, isn’t it? A microcosm made up of What Ifs and I Wonders, with a pinch and a dash each of science fiction, fantasy, horror, and romance.

To those of you who’ve read Waking the Weaver, you’ve likely gleaned that it was not completely a done-in-one novel, but instead the proverbial first step down the path of Story.

Now, I would argue that Waking The Weaver is a whole story in that it answers why the protagonist, horror novelist Michael Gideon, is suffering from such a complete writer’s block. But it was careless of me not to thoroughly underscore in its marketing that Waking the Weaver is but a mere prelude to The Show that is Timberhaven, the opening stage magician before the play begins. Let me attempt to remedy this by laying out for you the *entirety of The Histories in Timberhaven as they now exist simultaneously in my head and various written draft stages.

First off, think of the Timberhaven novels as a mosaic. You’ll get a complete tale per story, but each book is an event that’s part of a more significant series of events. It’s a tapestry where each thread has a throughline in the piece as a whole. For instance, Waking the Weaver is part of the Weaver thread of books which consist of:

Chaotic Symmetry

(Short stories that take place scattered throughout the timeline, readable anyplace in the order)


Square Pegs, Round World

(Chronicles the friendship of Audrey and Bernie)


Before the Weaver

(Short stories of the lives of key players in Timberhaven before Michael Gideon’s arrival)


Monsters in the Park


Waking the Weaver


Roshambo Trilogy: Book One


Roshambo Trilogy: Book Two


Roshambo Trilogy: Book Three

This thread focuses primarily, obviously, on the Weaver’s role in Timberhaven and serves as the spine of the saga. There will be a Juniper Soot thread of books as well (I’ll get more into that when our little eight-year-old heroine gets introduced properly in Monsters in the Park), and a “behind The Barrier” one. I’ve also gone a touch meta by publishing “Michael Gideon’s” horror stories: Spookhunt and I Live Here Now. Neither of which tie into Timberhaven directly, but each has a “note from the publisher” that alludes to Michael having disappeared in the summer of 2010, so they kind of do.

There we go. Hopefully, this info makes up for my not having done a better job of letting you know what you were getting into when you got the book. And if reading this has made you want to buy my first book, more the better!

Until next time.

*I have no idea at the entirety of these histories. These are what I’ve got outlined as of now. There could easily be more show up later, for all I know, and these listed could be entitled something very different by the time you’re holding them in your hands. Also, footnotes are cool. You can hide secrets in them that only dedicated readers seek out at the end of your post. I don’t have a secret for you now, though. I was just saying, you know, in general, an author can use them as such. Sorry.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page